ZOC President Re-appointed to IOC Commission

The Zimbabwe Olympic Committee President, Mr. Admire Masenda has been reappointed to the IOC Culture and Olympic Education Commission. Competition for appointment was very stiff this time because of requests from important Olympic entities. The commission members include educationists of note from around the globe, such global organisations as UNESCO and artist, billionaire businessmen Russian Vladmir Lisin among others.

The role of the IOC commissions is to guide the IOC and the Organising Committees for the Olympic Games in their missions.

Masenda will serve on this 35 member Commission joining other African sports administrators as Gambian Beatrice Allen, Kenyan Kipchoge Keino and South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee Chief Executive Officer Tubby Reddy.  The Commission for Culture and Olympic Education falls under the Department of International Cooperation and Development which is headed by Zimbabwean Thomas Sithole as the Director.  Apart from the Commission for Culture and Olympic Education, Sithole’s department is also in charge of the Sport and Environment Commission, International Relations Commission and Women and Sport Commission as well as the International Olympic Truce Foundation (IOTF) Board.

The Sport and Environment Commission chairman is Dr. Pal Schmitt, President (head of state) of Hungary and the IOTF Board is made up of, among others Nobel Peace Prize Laureates, former heads of state, ministers, and the President of the UN General Assembly. Other people on the International Relations Commission are Russian Deputy Prime Minister Alexander Zhukov, Kuwait Deputy Prime Minister Cheik Ahmad Al-Fahad Al-Sabah, the wife of the Ruler of Dubai, Princes Haya Bint Al-Hussein, sister of the King of Jordan, and Prince Nawaf Faisal Fahd Abdulaziz, young brother of the King of Saudi Arabia.

The Chairman of the Commission for Culture and Olympic Education in which Masenda serves is Lambis Nikolaou and the members are as follows:  Vittorio Adorni, Princess haya Al-Hussein, Beatrice Allen, Franco Ascani, Valeriy Borzov, Helen Brownlee, Danilo Carrera Drouet, Philip Craven, Ivan Dibos, Conrado Durantez, Jean Durry, Hichan El Guerrouj, Manuel Estiarte, Timothy Tsun Ting Fok, Kostas Georgiadis, Nat Indrapana, Kipchoge Keino, Isdros Kouvelos, Karl Lennartz, Vladimir Lisin, Elizabeth Longworth, Admire Masenda, Alicia Masoni de Morea, Samih Moudallal, Nobert Muller, Enrico Prandi, Tubby Reddy, Thomas P. Rosandich, Mounir Sabet, Meliton Sanchez Rivas, Klaus Schormann, Antun Vrdoljak, Ching-Kuo WU and Zhenliang HE who is an Honorary Member